clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Huskies Earn All-Conference 1st Team Honors

While 11 total made at least honorable mention

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 14 Oregon State at Washington Photo by Jeff Halstead/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The Pac-12 came out with their awards and all-conference teams today and 4 Huskies made the 1st team while 11 total had their names come up for at least honorable mention.

1st Team All Pac-12: Offense- TE Cade Otton, OL Jaxson Kirkland. Defense- DL- Zion Tupuola-Fetui, CB Elijah Molden

2nd Team All Pac-12: Defense- LB Edefuan Ulofoshio, CB Trent McDuffie

Honorable Mention: Offense- QB Dylan Morris, OL Luke Wattenberg, OL Henry Bainivalu, OL Victor Curne. Special Teams- Gunner Kyler Gordon.

The list is fairly close to what I expected although there are a few Huskies who could likely consider themselves snubbed. CB Trent McDuffie was a baffling exception to the pre-season all-conference team and finds himself on 2nd team rather than 1st. He was only targeted 8 times in 4 games because he shut down his side of the field and the lack of counting statistics likely was held against him.

Washington’s offensive line was likely the best in the conference and Kirkland as the biggest name coming in this season managed to represent the group on the 1st team. Pro Football Focus graded Kirkland as the 9th best offensive lineman in the conference. His bookend partner Victor Curne was actually 5th and ended up as an honorable mention, as did Bainivalu (11th), and Wattenberg (18th).

No Huskies ended up winning one of the 5 main awards the conference gives out (OPOY, DPOY, OFOY, DFOY, Coach). There were arguments for one of the 1st team defensive players to get the award over USC’s Talanoa Hufanga but given that he played 2 more games including in the conference title game it can’t be a shock that he won out since he was also incredible this season.

Washington’s 4 members on the 1st team was tied for the 2nd most representation in the conference with Utah and behind USC. Pac-12 champion Oregon earned just 2 members on the 1st team in DL Kayvon Thibodeaux and CB Mykael Wright.

Of the 11 representatives for the Huskies on the all-conference teams only Elijah Molden is confirmed to be leaving the program. TE Cade Otton seems extremely likely to head to the NFL as well while DL Zion Tupuola-Fetui and OL Jaxson Kirkland could also make the move if they decide to bet on themselves in the combine process. Last season Washington also had 11 members across the teams but only brought back 4 of them.