clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Washington Husky Football’s Coleman Shelton, Darrell Daniels Named to National Award Watch Lists

UW’s players have appeared on all four 2016 watch lists released thus far.

TicketCity Cactus Bowl - Washington v Oklahoma State Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

Center Coleman Shelton and tight end Darrell Daniels were today named to the preseason watch lists for the 2016 Dave Rimington Trophy and the John Mackey Award, respectively. The Rimington Trophy is given each year to the nation’s best center, while the Mackey Award honors America’s best tight end.

The Rimington Trophy has never been claimed by a Pac-12 player, let alone a Husky, so it would certainly be a momentous occasion should Shelton win it during his redshirt junior year. Washington fans should be more familiar with the Mackey Award, having seen Austin Seferian-Jenkins win it in 2013.

Washington has now seen six of its players featured on the four national award watch lists that have been released so far, with Shelton and Daniels joining Jake Browning, Myles Gaskin, Budda Baker and Sidney Jones IV in being recognized.