clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Austin Seferian-Jenkins Wins the Mackey Award for Nation's Most Outstanding Tight End.

ASJ becomes the first Husky to ever win the award.

It's not the Heisman, but ASJ is the Doak Walker Award Winner for 2013.
It's not the Heisman, but ASJ is the Doak Walker Award Winner for 2013.
William Mancebo

The University of Washington this morning announced that Washington Tight End, Austin Seferian-Jenkins, has won the John Mackey award as the nation's most outstanding player at his position.

This is the first national player of the year award for the Huskies since Steve Emtman won both the Lombard and Outland trophies in 1991.  It is also the first time that a Husky has won the Mackey award.  In fact, only two other Pac 12 Tight Ends have earned this award:  Marcedes Lewis (UCLA) in 2005 and Fred Davis (USC) in 2007.

ASJ was seen as a somewhat of an underdog in the race for this award having struggled initially to adapt to Steve Sarkisian's new fast-tempo, no huddle offense.  In fact, ASJ didn't even win first-team status in a poll among Pac 12 coaches who placed ASU's Chris Coyle on the first unit of the All Pac 12 team.  Eric Ebron of North Carolina and Nick O'Leary of Florida State were the other two finalists - one had the stats and the other has the pleasure of being on the #1 team in the nation. However, ASJ was a force in the red-zone all year and punctuated his campaign for the award with a notable step up in his performance as a blocker, contributing to ascension of Bishop Sankey into the ranks among the nation's elite Running Backs.

The full press release from the University of Washington follows.  Congratulations ASJ!  WOOF!!!

December 11, 2013

UW's Seferian-Jenkins Takes Home Mackey Award
BALTIMORE – Washington junior Austin Seferian-Jenkins has won the John Mackey Award, presented annually to the nation's top college tight end, the Mackey Award announced this morning.

Seferian-Jenkins, who is traveling to Orlando, Fla., today for the Home Depot College Football Awards show, will be presented the trophy during the red carpet show, which will air live on ESPNU at 3:00 p.m. Pacific Time. The awards show follows on ESPN at 4:00 p.m. PT.

Seferian-Jenkins, a junior from Fox Island, Wash., is the first Husky to win the Mackey Award, which was first presented in 2000. He's the first Washington player to win a national player of the year award since defensive tackle Steve Emtman won both the Lombardi Award and the Outland Trophy following the 1991 season. Greg Lewis won the Doak Walker Award in 1990.

In his three seasons at the UW, Seferian-Jenkins has re-written the tight ends section of the Husky record book. At a school that has been known for placing tight ends in the NFL, Seferian-Jenkins has set school records for season and career receptions, season and career yards and career touchdowns by a tight end.

This season, Seferian-Jenkins caught 33 passes for 413 yards and led the UW with seven receiving touchdowns. His blocking also played a major role as the Huskies set team records for total offense, rushing offense and points scored.

Next up, the Huskies take on BYU in the Fight Hunger Bowl Dec. 27 in San Francisco.

Joining Seferian-Jenkins in Orlando for the awards show is junior tailback Bishop Sankey, one of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award. The winner of that will be announced during the show.